Friday, October 24, 2014

Honoring the best from the 2014 lacrosse season


By Christopher Dunn

The high school year is in the books, meaning it's time to start handing out more end of year honors. The ball gets rolling with the 2014 All South Metro Boys Lacrosse Team.
The Fayette County Lacrosse Club, a premier source of local teams, has selected the 2014 All South Metro Boys Lacrosse Team. The team is comprised of boys from the Fayette and Coweta County high school squads. Additionally there is a All County Lacrosse Team made up of just the girls from McIntosh, Starr's Mill, and Whitewater, along with Woodward Academy.
The girls are represented with the All-County girls team, made up of players from McIntosh, Starr's Mill, and Whitewater.
Among the area boys teams, McIntosh and East Coweta were the lone local playoff qualifiers. On the girls side, both McIntosh and Starr's Mill made the playoffs with the Lady Chiefs advancing to the second round.
All South Metro Boys Player of the Year honors go to Hank Morgan of McIntosh. Morgan, the mammoth junior defender for the Chiefs, was a force to be the reckoned with on the field all year long. With another year to play, it will be exciting to see what Morgan can do in his senior season. Morgan also earned Honorable Mention All-State honors.
The great play of McIntosh and Starr's Mill on the girls side made it tough to name just one top player. In the end, Meghan Mills of Starr's Mill is the All-County Girls Player of the Year. Mills tallied 59 goals, 14 assists, and 43 ground balls en route to All-State honors.
McIntosh's Tom Hill was selected as the All-South Metro Boys Lacrosse Coach of the Year.
The boys first team is made up of attackers Connor McMeen (junior, East Coweta), Craig Ward (junior, McIntosh), and Mitchell Hutton (senior, Northgate), midfielders Sam Herman (junior, McIntosh), Marco Amalfitano (senior, Starr's Mill), and Clayton Francisco (sophomore, Northgate), defenders Hank Morgan, Mike McMahon (junior, Newnan), and Cole Snyder (senior, Woodward), and goalie Will Romero (sophomore, Woodward).
The second team consists of attackers Bryce Durden (senior, East Coweta), Ben Wilkinson (freshman, Woodward), and Austin Ohliger (junior, Newnan), midfielders Lee Steed (senior, East Coweta), Chandler Warren (senior, Northgate), and Jason Pealor (senior, Northgate), defenders Drew Saville (junior, Starr's Mill), Will Bishop (senior, Whitewater), and Logan Bradford (sophomore, McIntosh), and goalie Cameron Scott (senior, McIntosh).
Honorable mentions are Patrick Anderson, Dawson Riesselmann, and Tommy O'Brien for McIntosh, Jack Garrison, Garrett Kilgore, and Jacob Michel for Whitewater, Spencer Smith and Jordan Surrett for Newnan, Brian DeBole for East Coweta, Wiley Ostrowski for Starr's Mill, Alex Ros for Northgate, and Keller Pilch for Woodward.
The first team for the girls side is made up of attackers Meghan Mills, Tulah Blanton (sophomore, McIntosh), and Shelby Durden (senior, McIntosh), midfielders Jessica Weatherford (senior, McIntosh), Theresa Lasal (senior, Whitewater), Katie Buck (senior, Starr's Mill), and Alyssa Sack (sophomore, Starr's Mill), defenders Imani Hedgeman (sophomore, McIntosh) and Katie Wilson (senior, Starr's Mill), and goalie Madeline Scheinost (sophomore, Starr's Mill).
Honorable mentions are Sarah Head, Caitlin O'Brien, and Abby Ott from McIntosh and Starr's Mill's Jess Ward and Christine Landgren.

Whitewater's girls coach had not submitted his nominations as of press time.


Other Sports News



Website design, maintenance and hosting by Sunbelt Web Solutions